Chris Hipkins

Chris Hipkins

Chris Hipkins to replace Jacinda Ardern as the 41st prime minister of New Zealand.

  • New Zealand’s ruling Labour Party on Sunday (22 Jan) selected Chris Hipkins to replace Jacinda Ardern as its leader and the 41st prime minister of the country. He is to take charge by February 2023.

Reason of Electing New PM

Because New Zealand’s prime minister, Jacinda Ardern, has said she is resigning, in an unexpected announcement that came as she confirmed a national election for October.

Who is Chris Hipkins?

Chris Hipkins, New Zealand’s education minister, was the only candidate to enter the contest to become the next Prime Minister.


First elected to parliament in 2008, Hipkins became a household name fronting the government’s response to the pandemic. He was appointed health minister in July 2020 before becoming the COVID response minister at the end of the year.


A lawmaker for 15 years, Hipkins rose to public prominence after taking up the role of crisis management during the coronavirus pandemic.


Besides holding the education portfolio, Hipkins is also minister for police and the public service, and leader of the House.


Known as a political troubleshooter, he has often taken on a variety of roles to iron out problems created by his fellow lawmakers.


Many believe that Hipkins will appeal to a broad range of voters as he is considered more centrist than Ardern.

New Zealand (Country in Oceania)

  • Description
  • New Zealand is an island country in the southwestern Pacific Ocean. It consists of two main landmasses—the North Island and the South Island —and over 700 smaller islands. It is the sixth-largest island country by area, covering 268,021 square kilometres.  
  • Prime minister: Jacinda Ardern 
  • Capital: Wellington
  • Population: 51.2 lakhs (2021) World Bank
  • Continent: Oceania
  • Source : Hindustan times, The Print, NBC News

आपको हमारी ये “Post” कैसी लगी? कमेंट में अपनी प्रतिक्रिया जरूर दें!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *